jump to navigation

Library Roots/Routes November 1, 2009

Posted by michaelpawlus in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I am adding my contribution to the Library Routes Project with this post.  I have actually not started working in the library sector yet but I can share with anyone who wants to read this why I would like to work as a librarian.

First, it all started with becoming disillusioned in Brooklyn.  I had an undergraduate degree in a subject that I backed into rather than ever having an interest in and this degree led me into non-profit work which I did enjoy to an extent but the roles I had were always administrative or at best working with donors but only rarely seeing clients and as such only very rarely being able to have a direct effect on those that needed my help.  I knew this wouldn’t do and I bounced around a ton of ideas in my head anything from law school to the PeaceCorps while dismissing them in turn: too corrupt, too mismanaged…

Then, I saw this article:  http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/08/fashion/08librarian.html

What’s that you say?  Libraries, books, other librarians that you are sure to have a great conversation with, access to information…. for all, directly helping people learn, a generalist subject for people that love everything and can’t pick one specialty.

I was hooked.  I did a stint in Korea so I could be closer to Tokyo and get a cheaper flight to my brother’s wedding.  Then, that one year turned into two as I met the woman who I will soon marry.  Being a teacher in Korea proved how much I would love to work in a position that allowed me more access to service-receivers.  Then, I came to England and somehow got a place at a great programme at the University of Sheffield despite having no experience.  Now, I somehow have to overcome this lack of experience along with the UK’s nationalist policy to grant employment based on where you were born rather than your suitability for a job.  However, I’ll make it happen.  Look for me in your local public library soon.

Comments»

1. Sarah Ison - November 2, 2009

I enjoyed your post, and the article you linked to. All the best in finding a job. Sarah

2. Katie Blackford - November 4, 2009

I too enjoyed the article you linked to. I’m hoping to work in New York for a year or so once I’m qualified. I’m currently doing my masters in library studies as well. I think you’re very brave doing it without any prior experience. Without my trainee year I know I’d be finding this hard to put into context. Good luck with it all. Katie

3. thewikiman - November 5, 2009

That’s an interesting article – I think I’m going to have to get a tattoo quick sharp…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

