jump to navigation

U.S. Public Libraries Using Open Source CMS July 20, 2010

Posted by michaelpawlus in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

U.S. Public Libraries Using Open Source CMS

As part of my dissertation, I have made a Google Map charting the U.S. public libraries using open source CMS which can be accessed here: http://bit.ly/aIInGv.

It is interesting to see the large accumulation in the Midwest.  I wonder if the presence of OCLC and ALA play a part into why there are so many libraries using CMS-powered websites in that part of the country.

If anyone knows of any libraries that I missed please let me know.  If you work for a library that is currently running a CMS-powered website, please take my survey which can be found here: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/5VX7F8Q.  Details on how the data will be handled is available here: http://notepad.cc/share/rkeH3HBhOz

For those of you that have already contributed to my project, let me say thank you.  I have received some really thoughtful responses to my survey which will really help me put together an informative and original final project.

Comments»

1. Elvenrunelord - October 18, 2010

You will find more and more public agencies using open source materials considering the across the board budget cuts which are in store for virtually every part of governmet and public services.

This is a good thing. The things we depend on to glue our modern society together should not be limited by a license that any one single or group of private companies can manipulate to their profit.

2. Cody Ismael - January 18, 2011

that of a very good understand.


Leave a Reply

